Home Technical Talk

Static camera scene: High poly VS Pre-rendered

Alastor01
null
Hi everyone!

First of all, I apologize if I have put this thread into incorrect section. Second, nice to meet you!
I am just an amateur 3D hobbyist, started using Blender maybe few months ago. Anyway, I have a question for much more experienced modelers than me :smile:

I am planning to make a static camera survival horror (Resident Evil old school style) over the next 5 years (I am a dentist, don't have much free time...). I have found this site and similar ones to be quite useful for free source models to create "static" props in a scene: https://archibaseplanet.com/gdl
These are CAD models and are mostly high poly. For example, a table lamp may be 30000 triangles, a full bed may be 150000 triangles.
So far, the work flow to convert CAD into "game" model in Blender was as follows:
1) Scale and rotate appropriately the object/s
2) Remove doubles, convert to quads, delete un-seen faces
3) Place seams via edge loops and UV Unwrap
4) Apply appropriate materials / textures to each part of the model
5) Add the object to a scene, add other objects (all objects are high poly)...

This takes time of course, but not too much. Time is very important factor to me.
If I would just save and export this scene with high poly objects, after combining all objects in one and baking color texture only, I would have a single mesh with about 500000 - 1 million tris. This would be a single scene + character + weapon + enemies (1 - 4 at a time). So total polycount per scene would be more than that.

Baking everything in a scene would take ages - re-topo + baking = way too much time and effort.