Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: aryarie

triangle
Offline / Send Message
aryarie triangle
I'm learning to model from scratch and thought that keeping a sketchbook would be a nice way to document progression and maybe get some advice along the way :)

So just a disclaimer in that I am a total beginner so don't expect anything amazing...

Currently I'm working my way through some of the Maya videos on Pluralsight (the quick start to modelling series) so some of the things in here will be from following tutorials (I'll specify when this is the case)... if anyone has any better suggestions for learning modelling that would be great. My goal is to eventually be able to model things for games. I'm thinking of working my way towards environment art but we'll see how it goes. :)

Here's some work I have done so far:

Quick start to modelling volume 1 (followed the tutorial)

My assignment completed after this tutorial, modelling a satellite (no tutorial)

Second tutorial in the series, modelling a case:

For the second assignment I modeled a Pelican rifle case which was particularly tricky to do due to the weird latches, but I think I sort of got there in the end :)

That's all for now... will post some more a bit later on.

Replies

• aryarie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aryarie triangle
    Here's the completed tutorial, volume 3, modeling this gun:

After I finished this I worked on an attempt of modeling one of Tracer's pulse pistols from Overwatch

• aryarie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aryarie triangle
    Completed volume 4 tutorial

• aryarie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aryarie triangle
    For my assignment I tried designing and modeling this weird steam punky spider thing... kinda based it on a jumping spider. The head was a pain but other than that it was pretty close to the sketches to did

• aryarie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aryarie triangle