Home Technical Talk

Low poly base mesh, what are you priorities?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
bitinn polycounter lvl 6
Hi all,

I am looking at wiki page for Topology and Base Mesh while trying to create a female base mesh for my personal project. I am very new to modelling and want to hear your opinions.

1. What sorts of details you always put on your base mesh?

2. For a low poly base mesh, what would you happily omit?

3. If I aim to "model then sculpt lightly", instead of going the "high poly then retopo" route, what special care should I give to my base mesh?

Below is my current progress: I think its quad size could be more even, and it is missing proper deformation joints, and there are a few poles/triangles I think need sorting out, and the ratio of arms are probably off...

Please kindly let me know if I have screw up something (or everything).

Replies

• musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    The priorities are clean deformation, and silhouette. The shoulder/pelvis are usually the trouble areas when skinning. Your shoulder and underarm topology look like they wouldn't deform too well. There is a quick rig toolset in newer versions of maya. You should make use of it when researching topo solutions. Trial and error is often the best learning resource. Have a look on the hippydrome website for some excellent character topology examples.
  • bitinn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bitinn polycounter lvl 6
    The priorities are clean deformation, and silhouette. The shoulder/pelvis are usually the trouble areas when skinning. Your shoulder and underarm topology look like they wouldn't deform too well. There is a quick rig toolset in newer versions of maya. You should make use of it when researching topo solutions. Trial and error is often the best learning resource. Have a look on the hippydrome website for some excellent character topology examples.