Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Practicing

vertex
I'm a beginner but I thought I'd post some of the practicing I've done instead of clogging the wip thread with my stuff.
My main interests are anime.

Anyway here's what I've done today  [prepare for bad quality]

my first face. The ears are misplaced terribly.

I'm going to do other models like realism to get those fundamentals in and hopefully implement it on my animoos in the future.
But I think I have a long way to go before I can touch anime properly.

One last thing, I made a wip thread on my sculpting a while back but it turned out horribly (mainly because of no edgeloops during rigging) along with other things. But I guess that counts as a learning experience somewhat.

Replies

• Nominous
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nominous polycounter lvl 10
    I think you're off to a good start since you're matching the front and side views well. I'm curious, what 3D modeling and texturing software are you using? Can you post a wireframe? I noticed the top and back of the head are missing. Is there a reason for this or is this just where you left off?

I think some 2D art styles are better suited for 3D than others. For any character model, you want to collect as many reference images as possible from many different angles. I think the more realistic the drawing (in terms of discernible planes), the easier time you'll have converting it to 3D. The problem that I see with anime/manga is that front views aren't always drawn proportionally to other views. Therefore, you might have to use artistic license when modeling things like the head, moreso than with (semi-) realistic concept art.