Home Technical Talk

Baking normals in Modo: what could be the cause of those artifacts?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
bac9-flcl polycounter lvl 10
I'm a beginner with Modo so maybe I'm making some very basic mistake, since I was unable to find any mentions of a similar issue on Google. I'm trying to follow this very basic normal baking tutorial involving use of a single lowpoly mesh to bake normals. No high poly geometry, no cages, nothing special: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=53UIMqL3ec8

Except I'm getting these strange artifacts on about half of my UV islands every time I attempt a normal bake:

As you can see, the artifacts look different every time - almost as if they were a product of z-fighting or something. Not sure how z-fighting can find it's way into the baking setup and produce those kinds of colors, though, so it's probably not it.

I'd appreciate any ideas. :)

Replies

• igi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    igi polycounter lvl 12
    @bac9-flcl  run mesh cleanup command on your low-poly mesh a couple of times.
     make sure your hi-poly(source mesh) don't have any uv map. If it has an uv map then make sure it don't have same uv map name with low-poly uvs.
     hide all other meshes except the ones that are subject to bake
     make sure your normal map texture locator directed to correct uv map name. 
     As a side node normal maps must be saved with linear colorspace. Your normals are now saved with sRGB colorspace which is the default color output for Modo renderer.

• bac9-flcl
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @igi Thanks for the quick response!