Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook : MoonYeah

null
Offline / Send Message
MoonYeah null
Hello everyone !

I hope i'm posting in the right place, i'll obviously use this post as my sketchbook but i also want to use it as a roadmap that shows my lifechangeplan.

I'm totally new here so first let me introduce myself.

My name is Florent and i'm 30 years old, i'm a 2D artist in a mobile game company in France, and if i'm here today it's mainly because my life needs an emergency revolution...

Working in the video game industry has always been my dream, in 2010 i thought this dream was coming true, but then i realized mobile games and games in general are two completely distinct universe (at least for now).
Nowadays i'm bored to death because my job mainly consists in fixing GUI in Unity, sometimes i do particles, and once in a while i'm asked to do a character in order to not turn crazy because of chara design deprivation...

The main reason for all of this is mainly the lack of projects that require "art" and even more because we tend to use old assets in order not to spend too much money.

Anyway, the point is, i'm depressed at how things turned out, and now i need a plan to move on.

First of all, here's a link to my deviantart : moonyeah.deviantart.com
I'm really not happy with my current skill level, and i know i need to improve much faster than this, like i said i'm 30 years old, and sometimes i feel like i'm totally fucked, with no chance of going further, other times i remember that age doesn't mean a thing, and i start focusing on what i've got to do in order to improve.

I decided to start learning 3D 2 or 3 weeks ago.

My life goal would be to become a character artist, mainly for games, not necessarily on the concept art side of things, i'm okay with pure production as long as i'm modelling on top of great concepts i guess.