Home Career & Education

Cant get a job in the industry

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
DeathstrokeFTW polycounter lvl 4
Hello!
I am a 3d Artist from Pakistan, I graduated in July 2016 from the UK in Games Design but after moving back from the UK ive had a tough time getting a job in the industry. I mostly do environments but also like to do vehicles and props. Wherever I apply I just get rejected, one time I got an art test but they rejected me without telling me what the problem was. Is it that my portfolio is bad or just that without experience I wont be able to get a job?

Replies

• PJPayne
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PJPayne polycounter lvl 7
    It could be a huge number of things from people having more experience than you while applying tot he same jobs, to the look the companies are look for doesn't show through your portfolio. Something I suggest (after looking through your art station would be to also show process photos (showing the pieces of a modular set piece you used in a screenshot like so: https://cdnb.artstation.com/p/assets/images/images/005/093/627/large/jonathon-frederick-11.jpg?1488409632

(Something I even have to get used to as well :P)

It could also be your resume, how it's worded, etc.
  • Stuart Campbell
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stuart Campbell polycounter lvl 13
    Hi Ali,

I took a quick look at your Artstation page and the main issue for me is the content, both in terms of quality and the content itself.

You said you mostly do environments, yet the content on there isn't heavily focused on environment work. You have 1 environment shot, two vehicle shots (1 does have some background environment art), a spaceship, a prop and an unfinished WIP piece.