Home Adobe Substance

Creating Sci-Fi pipes in Substance Designer

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Crimzan polycounter lvl 9
Hello everybody!

I'm new to Substance Designer, and I love Sci-Fi. I created a few Bricks, Cobblestone, Dirt, Pebbles and whatnot, but now I would love to do some Science Fiction in Substance. Whereas I don't have that many issues with paneling or so, I really struggle with pipes.

This is how I would love my pipe to look like (the big pipe in the middle):

The pipe itself is easy to do, but how can I create these bigger, slightly beveled rings which go around the pipe?

I don't have a graph to show, I just made a shape with rounded off corners left and right, which tiles up and down. If this is not too difficult, can these be easily bent into a shape, or even around corners with a directional warp? Or is a different node better for this?
(I know I could basically model it in 3Ds Max and Bake Out a Hightmap - this is how I made it the other times, but I would love to know how to do it in Substance Designer.)

Maybe it is a rather easy, noobish question, but still that's something I am struggling with currently, and I didn't find tutorials on google that tackle interesting, detailed pipes in Substance Designer.

I made a little Heightmap in 3Ds Max. Basically I'd love to know how to make this in substance:

Thank you for any answers in advance!

-Crimi

Replies

• Quack!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Quack! polycounter lvl 17
    This is a very good question that has alluded me for a while.  Getting the soft and subtle gradients needed for a true heightmap is part of the art of Substance Designer.  I would like to give this a go when I get a chance and I'll post if I can achieve anything worthwhile.
  • kysg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kysg polycounter lvl 3
    Should be doable with gradient nodes.
  • Froyok
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Froyok greentooth