Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4][WIP] Wizard's Room

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Wabbaboy polycounter lvl 4
Hi there, first time making a thread here.
If anybody wants to follow the progress in any other place feel free to check my Twitter and Tumblr:
https://twitter.com/Wabbaboy
http://wabbaboy.tumblr.com/

So, I'm a 3D artist living in Europe, I don't have professional experience but I worked in a couple of quite long student projects using UE4 that ended up being quite playable. Since I finished those projects I haven't seem to catch much attention from indie and Triple A devs and I've been rejected left and right so I decided to make something really good (by my standards) before keep trying.

I like fantasy-medieval settings a lot and I feel comfortable modelling and texturing for them so I decided to make something based on that, the idea is to make a wizard room with the usual: a bunch of books on a big library, rare items that wizards get through their travels, magic elements here and there to make things interesting, an alchemy lab, a comfy place to relax. That kind of thing all in the same room, which will be pretty big.

The artstyle will be as realistic as I'm able to get it, but I'd like to have bright colors here and there. I'm using Zbrush, Painter, Designer, Photoshop and 3Ds Max.
I don't have the best of computers and since this is in UE4 I need to have in mind optimisation, by the end of the project I hope to have it at 60fps stables at 1080, but it's not the biggest of my concerns as long as it looks good.

This is my main reference, I did not created this piece of concept art, it's from a game called Wonderbook: Book of Spells and it's just what I want to achieve in term of setting and scale

I also watched the Harry Potter movies and collected references along the way.