Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Critiques Welcome - Sci-Fi Corridor

gparente
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
gparente polycounter lvl 4
Hello all! I'm a CG student in college. I've only been introduced to 3D modeling, texturing, rendering, and compositing for about a year now. I decided to push my limits a little bit and went for a space corridor. Do you guys have any comments on the composition, style, etc? I went for a more realistic, industrial sort of sci-fi style. Thanks in advance!!

Replies

• Klawd
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Klawd polycounter lvl 7
    Not bad. The only thing that bugs me is the door design. How is it supposed to work with that shape? I think a vertical slide mechanism would have been better, given the size. Also it seems like the frame on the top merges to the wall but it might be just an optic illusion. This last thing is just me being nitpicky, are the valves supposed to be used only in zero g?
  • gparente
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The door is designed to open left to right. The line in the middle is where the two doors meet when closed. The frame on the top does not merge into anything lol its just an optical illusion. Hey, nitpicky is good though! I envisioned this corridor to have earth-like gravity so valves would make sense lol, thanks for the tip though!
  • fhurtubise
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fhurtubise polycounter lvl 3
    Your shapes are good. The "hexagonal space corridor" isn't a very risky theme, but I feel like you have a good blend of low and high frequency detail, except on the door, which is a bit too uniform. Since the floor is basically flat, giving it an additional trim where it meets the walls could also help it blend better with the rest of the scene.