Home Technical Talk

How is rigging/animation for game art in Modo?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
JRay polycounter lvl 10
I've been wanting to add to my skills and learn/relearn some rigging and animation. I have some experience with rigging and animation from school in C4D but it's been some time since then and I've probably forgotten most of what I learned. I currently use Modo indie for a lot of my workflow and I was wondering if it would be worth learning how to rig and animate in that or if I should just learn it in blender or some other software. I'm not really looking to make super complicated rigs to share with other people but I'm looking to make rigs for my characters to pose and make simple animations.

Replies

• JRay
    Offline / Send Message
    JRay polycounter lvl 10
    I'm also looking into akeytsu for that stuff so if anyone has any input on that let me know!
  • Mark Dygert
    For most games with bipedal characters it has pretty much everything you need. Maya and 3dsmax are still better and more feature complete especially if you want to work with motion capture, animation layers and blending, but Modo isn't a slouch.

Since I really like it's modeling tools I've thought about using only it on several contracts especially since it was what the other artists where using but there where a few rigs that would have been difficult to do in Modo so I backed off. But Modo has a lot of really great tools that I wish where in other apps and since they've built it from the ground up after looking at how the other apps have evolved it doesn't have 200 layers of duct tape and glue holding it's bits together.

This covers everything you need to know about rigging in Modo:
    https://www.thefoundry.co.uk/products/modo/training-videos/character-rigging-course/
  • JRay
    Offline / Send Message
    JRay polycounter lvl 10
    Hey thanks for your input! Just curious though, what kind of things were you thinking would be difficult to do in modo?