Home Technical Talk

Dynamesh for high detailed HD sculpt?

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
ISUther polycounter lvl 6
Hi.

I am new to zBrush and 3d over all. 
Started with 3D sculpt and used Dynamesh but then got info from friend of mine that i should not use Dynamesh too often as i get too many polygons and it makes impossible to rig it later or build effect on it as it is too "heavy".

What workflow is the best to follow and why?
What do they use in production?
Example:
World of Warcraft cinematics.
Starcraft Cinematics etc. 
As i am interested to create animation with character i create in zbrush rig it >> build effect on it and put together a small clip. 

Is this correct way?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8t-SV8rU8o

Replies

• Scruples
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Scruples polycounter lvl 10
    It doesn't really matter, you're going to retopologise at some point anyway.
    Here they show the density of the cinematic models they made for the Overwatch shorts @5:00 and 6:30
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGHU8DI6fo4
  • AtticusMars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AtticusMars greentooth
    Doesn't matter for animation as Scruples said. If you use a basemesh with geometry laid out that is adequate for animation you might be able to skip the retopo step, unfortunately topology suitable for animation isn't always great for sculpting.

I would not recommend working with extremely dense dynamesh meshes simply because it becomes very difficult to make large changes late in the sculpt if you don't have access to the bottom subdivision levels.
  • ISUther
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yep this is why i re-created it. 
    Currently have it like this. 
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4llht21JEaQ&t=29s

It is 5 sub div levels total. 
    And dynamesh i did not use. 
    As i understand should use dynamesh only at beginning. 
    Later should not use it as it would go too "heavy".