Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Asset Presentation - Advice needed

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Beard3D Bandit polycounter lvl 7
Hi guys,

So the past month or so I have been attempting take my attempt in creating Game Art Props/Environment with an intent to create a portfolio to either get myself into a small studio or modding team. Here's a quick backstory, so you can gauge me/mywork:
- self-taught on/off since at least a year ago
- realised I wanted to focus on the Medieval/Medieval Fantasy theme (it's what I love)
- Props + World building is something I love (general props, architecture and rocks)

Last year for me was discovering what software to continue learning fully, what kind of artist I want to become and other crappy 2016 stuff that happened.

I have created two props to get me used to the workflow I reallly wanted to learn, which was:

- Baking down to LP (something I didn't really do at all
- PBR texturing (never touched it, I fell I need to learn more about this)
- (the big one for me) FINISHING a project. I still feel new to this, despite over the years that I couldn't buy a computer but read forums in the library, watched others work, and on consoles analyse environments.

Canvas Project (finished)
Obelisk Project (intend to tweak)

There are things I do that I should be working toward making better, which is going to happen, but the one I'm stuck on is presenting my work. 

obelisk artstation page: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/knAZ6
canvas map artstation page: https://www.artstation.com/artwork/LO9Z0

some of the feedback has been that my props are hurt by not having a 'slicker' presentation and better lighting. I think consistency of lighting is one thing I'm getting wrong. but I also have two choices in presenting these props:

1. as a singular asset (canvas isn't shown indoors but rather levitating in space with fixed lighting in different directions)