Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Bearded Bandit

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Beard3D Bandit polycounter lvl 7

I am intending this to basically be my progression thread.

Hay fellow kids! I have been on and off in terms of working towards creating Game Assets, and looking at tutorials the past 9 months. I haven't felt that I have driven myself the past year for real-life reason, but intend to post on here my progression up to the new year onwards for 2017.

I am self-taught and have been watching 3D Motive Tutorials and Digital Tutors and Youtube in general.

Previously I dabbled in new softwares (MODO + Zbrush) however I have focused my attention using 3DS Max.

Here is my plan (spread across Nov - start of 2017) :

1. Creating props of different materials and use. (Hero Props, General Props, Foliage). These would be simple props, attempting to follow the PBR workflow.

2. I will try and present these in Marmoset + UE4

So let's Begin by showing what I attempted a while back. I didn't bake anything, literally created some basic models and slapped some textures onto it.

My UV work is horrific (as seen in the vertical plank distortion), I didn't bake it all out and my low poly wasn't optimized at all. (you can see more on my artstation )

Here is my first project to try and improve:

Map Holder Concept - by Kyu Choi - Prop for Tera (as I believe) http://www.kyubrush.com/

I loved this as my first Props to start with for a couple of reasons.
1. silhouette is simple and clean to read
2. Wood is it's primary material, and I wanted to work with something made of wood, before I move onto more difficult materials (glass,crystal etc)
3. Can be made modular as I have outlined above.

I intend to create this by:
1: Creating a High Poly version whilst maintaining the Low Poly for eventual baking (with cage)