Home General Discussion

Unite Keynote

polycounter
Offline / Send Message
monster polycounter
I had the opportunity to speak at the Unite 2016 keynote! Unity is making a big effort to make art tools more friendly and as a tech artist that's been my job for many years. My talk is over the new Progressive Lightmapper. They are hoping to have an experimental build out soon here: http://unity3d.com/experimental

A couple of funny notes. The light baking is so fast that halfway through I have to Clear Baked Data to keep showing the features. The entire level bakes in about 1 minute compared to the current Enlighten engine that takes about half an hour (optimized and on low settings). The quality settings are what I consider first pass, but a shipping quality bake only takes about 15 minutes. I didn't make any of the art in the demo (I'm an animator), but we have an amazing art team at Playful that put it together.

The art tools start at 44:32 and my light mapping talk starts at 1:00:38.
https://youtu.be/h5iBcVYluRs

BTW, we are currently hiring experienced environment / zbrush / hard surface artists. :)
http://polycount.com/discussion/178589/playful-environment-artists-wanted-near-dallas-tx#latest

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Good job with the keynote, awesome looking feature. I know a lot of artists are hoping we move past baked lighting, but with VR especially, it looks like we will be stuck with it for a while longer. I hope this pushes Epic to add similar features to UE4. 
  • MikeF
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MikeF polycounter lvl 19
    Oh man, that new lighting system looks amazing! Enlighten has been the single biggest pain in moving from 4 to 5, this looks to be bridging the gap. Those render times alone make it worthwhile
  • rollin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rollin polycounter
    Ha, that's you!! Saw the screenshot on the unity blog but didn't expect you. Nice one! :)