Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Environment Art Portfolio [WIP]

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Valravn polycounter lvl 7
Hi!

My name's Byron. I'm a game art student from a town called Wollongong, just an hour south of Sydney, Australia.

I'm starting to build my portfolio so that I can get a job as an environment artist, so I thought I'd post the progress on that here, maybe get some advice and critique from the great artists here. You can view my current (limited) portfolio on my art station profile - https://www.artstation.com/artist/blin_turn

I have 3 "dioramas" or vertical slices of environments that I'd like to make initially. 

1. A realistic, contemporary environment section. 
2. A sci fi environment section.
3. A medieval/fantasy diorama.

The software that I'll be using;

* Substance designer and painter
* Modo 10.0 Indie
* Unreal Engine 4
* Zbrush

I think I'll start with my idea for the realistic contemporary diorama. 

This image is an abandoned train tunnel near where I live. Inside, bright blue glow worms cover the walls and ceiling. And outside... well, you can see from this image that it is quite a beautiful place! 

This isn't my photo, just one that I'm using for reference. I'll be heading over there again this weekend to take some more in depth reference shots. 

I'd love some feedback on my ideas, and of course my progress as I go ahead with the project. 

Replies

• dosit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dosit vertex
    Hey man I'm from sydney myself :) Really like the concept, would make for an awesome looking environment.
  • furiouslul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    furiouslul polycounter lvl 4
    Gotta love the Helensburgh tunnel!
  • Valravn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey guys! I'm heading there tomorrow for some in depth reference shots! Super keen :D
  • Valravn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message