Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sun Wukong Girl

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Denzule polycounter lvl 2
Hey everyone, I'm a student learning zbrush for the first time and for my first project I've decided to attempt to create Toshiaki Takayama's take on the Monkey King.

Based off the reference I'm going for a semi-realistic anime style, leaning more towards anime. I already made my first mistake which was modelling the head, and hands separate from the body and retopo'ing all of them. Luckily this was easy to fix in Maya where I just joined the meshes together.

Here's what I got for the base, let me know if there's anything wrong with proportions, anatomy etc. I believe in jumping into the deep end so give me your harshest critiques, I can take it. :smile:

Replies

• snoop
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    snoop polycounter lvl 7
    I made a really quick and dirty edit with the liquify filter in photoshop.

As I've written on the image, ignore the arms, I didn't bother controlling what the liquify brush did to them, because they're already correct proportionally, other than a slight widening of the shoulders. Now, my edit isn't necessarily better than what you've got. I just feel that it's more in line with the reference photo in your post, and the upper torso comprised of the top of the abdominals, ribs, and up all the way to her shoulders seems too thin. Your model seems far more petite than the girl in the reference in this way, along with the fact that she has thicker/wider thighs and hips. The hip to waste ratio isn't quite so vast either. The changes I made aren't entirely significant, but not so insignificant that I feel they could be described as being subtle.