Home General Discussion

3D artist career advice?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
SimonTG polycounter lvl 10
edit: Wow, I didn't mean to write such a wall of text. 
TLDR: I need some advice. I'm an aspiring 3d artist. A bit lost on what to focus on exactly. I have a few questions at the end of the post.  

Hi polycounters
I've been lurking around these forums for a long time but never really posted much for some reason. So much great content on this site. Thanks to everyone who contributes! 

Posting this thread since I'm a bit lost when it comes to my career as a 3d artist and figured someone might be able to give me some advice. I've been wanting to work as a 3d artist in the game industry for many years now. Started playing with "Bryce 3D" like 10 years ago and I was hooked. Went through 2 different school courses, been updating my portfolio somewhat often, sent out hundreds of CVs... but haven't been able to really "break through" just yet. I had pretty given up a few years ago. I was battling with depression at the time and couldn't find the motivation to keep trying. I'm now 30 years old, I've since then turned it around, I feel better and I figured out it really is what I want to do as a career. I am giving it another shot!