Home Technical Talk

Does anyone have any tips or guidance when it comes to rigging?

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Trill_Clinton polycounter lvl 5
Hiya back at it again with another technical issue.

So to start off I am a studying Character artist at uni and one stage that has really baffled me/basically suck at is rigging. I currently am trained in 3DS Max In terms of modelling software so software such as maya is alien to me as of now. Anyway Im here to ask you guys how would you approach rigging. I am aware on how to do the process but I do it very bare bones and basic. The weight table confounds me if not intimates me dude to its mathematical nature and unfortunately I suffer from dyscalculia so I find math and calculations very difficult. so I am doing a lot of this visually as well. Anyway does anyone have any tips or workflows I could utilise within max and external programs especially something somewhat less mathematical.

I'm really sorry about this

I hope to hear from you guys soon.

So far this place has been a godsend and I thank you all so much

Best Regards.

Replies

• monster
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    monster polycounter
    Do you see the little wrench icon (Weight Tool) ? Use that instead of the Abs. Effect.

Since you are just getting started, I recommend as a first pass vertex weighting the entire model using only 1 or 0.5 weighting. This will give you a mostly rigid weighting with just a little bit of blending at the joints. On the second pass use the Blend Tool (in the Weight Tool) only where needed. Probably the shoulders and hips.

Newer versions of Max have a voxel skinning solver you can use. But I would get comfortable with the technique I described above first. https://youtu.be/Kimn7CIZ5bI

• Trill_Clinton
    Options
    Offline / Send Message