Home General Discussion

When to send an invoice for freelance work

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
EdHanley polycounter lvl 9
So I have been freelancing for a company for about 6 months now. I have been sending through my invoice either with the completed work or the next day and everything has been fine. However, in their latest work order they state that I can't send though an invoice until I have received written confirmation that the work has been approved.

I'm just wondering when you guys send through invoices, and if I agree to these terms I am allowing myself to be taken advantage of? I really cant afford to be having to wait for approval if they feel like taking their time with it and then waiting up to another 30 days for payment. 

Replies

• Kevin Albers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kevin Albers polycounter lvl 18
    Do you have a contract with them? You should. If you don't, you should consider creating one. It should state when you get paid. Needing to wait for approval of the work is very common, and reasonable. Having to wait for months for approval, or having to wait for publisher approval (as opposed to studio approval) would not be very reasonable. Waiting for up to 30 days might kind of suck, but it's not crazy-unreasonable.

It's a good idea to send the invoice very soon after the work recieves approval. Sending it before the work is approved is problematic, and there usually isn't a great need to delay sending the invoice as soon as approval occurs.
  • EdHanley
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah I do have a contract with them and it states that payment is to be made within 30 days of receiving an invoice.  I'm not bothered about the 30 days but if they hold off from approving the work so I cant send an invoice for a couple of weeks then that 30 days can soon turn into 40-50 days or even longer from actually sending in the assets.