Home Technical Talk

Random Character Generator

polycounter lvl 15
Offline / Send Message
MattQ86 polycounter lvl 15
Hey everybody,

For the longest time I've been kicking around the idea of a random character generator, something that would work like the old parlor game of Consequences or the surrealist Exquisite Corpse writing exercise. I think it could be a good tool for writers and artists. I actually found something similar to what I'm looking for but I would like something a little more flexible. Rather than clumsily try to explain what I want I decided to mock up a UI for the website that should hopefully communicate things clearly.

So, which programming language should I use? I have some experience with HTML, Javascript and a tiny amount of CS.

What techniques should I use? That is to say: what should I be learning? I'm going to need a way to call a random word from each of these lists and to toggle on and off elements.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Replies

• throttlekitty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm not much of a coder, but JS seems like a good choice. That site you linked uses it, check the source and find your way to the wtf.js to see how that person did it. Also, I'm sure if you look a little, "Do a random X thingy" seems like it would be a popular topic in tutorials.
  • MattQ86
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah, the WTF engine is what I'm using now. The problem is that there's no way to control what parts of the template are used outside of what's written in the function. I've just basically dumped a bunch of extra words into the template they already have and the results don't always give you what you want. So the above example would be written as "@adjective @race @occupation from @place" with no way for turning on or off any of the lists or examples in those lists being called. There's no way to tag and categorize the items by genre.