Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Questions: 3D Character Art

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
alec2002 polycounter lvl 8
Hi everyone. I finished high school several months ago and have been stockpiling questions over the summer while I studied and practiced. I would really appreciate it if I could have some of them answered before I head off to the Savannah College of Art and Design in three days to begin my journey into the game and/or film industry. NOTE: I want to be a Character Artist for production, not a concept artist.

First off, I have been stressing so much lately about how I'm not the best at drawing and that I need to be good in order to be a good 3D artist. I feel that my 3D skills, however, are much better than my 2D skills because I've simply chosen to spend more time sculpting rather than drawing/painting. In other words, I enjoy 3D more. What are your thoughts on this? Would I be in the wrong if I continue putting most of my energy into studying 3D as my medium of expertise? I'm sure my professors will help me with this dilemma, but I'd like to know what you think as well.

Secondly, are character artists working in production expected to design? Would I be required to do any pre-production sketching at a studio with concept artists whose job it is to do that? I just want to know if lacking certain 2D skills like complex perspective will hinder my chances of being hired for a role in the character production pipeline.

Lastly, I've attached some renders of my characters/creatures from the past several months. Some are based on existing concepts and others are my own designs. How do they look? Even though I don't know much about the high- to low-poly process and can't render them in-engine yet (I've been focusing mainly on fundamentals like anatomy and proportion), do these models show potential for a character production role in the future?