Home Technical Talk

Baking Normals Topic: Cages. Are they old news?

Devon M
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Devon M polycounter lvl 4
I'm relatively new to the 3D modeling world (couple years now) and I've always done just a typical high to low poly bake with my high poly mesh and my low poly mesh. I throw it in xNormal (or Substance) to bake out my Normals and tweak it a bit in Photoshop if necessary. 

However, I've been following a tutorial series over an environment piece, and the guy is using Cages to help bake out his Normals. This was the first time I ever heard of Cages. So I looked it up on Google and researched what exactly they do and why people use them. And I got really good results in my bakes when I started using Cages throughout this tutorial. 

I told a friend about it (he has roughly the same years of experience as I) and he talked to his boss at the place he works and the guy said "Cages are 'old news'" and that he doesn't use them.  

So, my question to the fine folks of PolyCount is this:

When baking out your Normals, AO, etc. etc., is using a cage still a typical, standard practice? Or is this an old way of baking out maps? Why and why not? When is it ever appropriate to use them, if at all?

Thanks everybody. 

Replies

• musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    I haven't used a cage since I started baking in Substance about 1.5 years ago. Mainly because I use an averaged vert bake for evrything(hard-surface/organic) and use Substance Painter and UE4 which are synced by mikkt tangent space. I simply haven't come across a case where I needed a cage. But that's my preference. I'm not saying 'f**k cages'. I just don't need them.