Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Game environment

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
salimmatta polycounter lvl 7

Hello guys, I want to create the environment around this house, and I have to say that I'm still a student and Im taking a bigger step comparing to my level now.

However guys, what is the best way or efficient let's say in order to create this environment? I was thinking about creating the main mesh in maya then export it to Zbrush and start sculpting.

Would love to hear your opinions, thank you :))

Replies

• DanielPeres
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DanielPeres polycounter lvl 7
    I am not sure I undestood your question fully, but if you are talking about terrain, yes that might be one approach, altought I think it dependes in a lot of things. I am not the best person to explain you about making terrains, but if you want to render that scene as a realtime scene inside a game engine, then I don't think a mesh is the best way to do it, what you could do is start with that method and when you have a good base mesh export a heightmap of it and then go into world machine to work the details (like erosion, etc). I am telling you this because I started using World Machine a while ago and it is indeed a great tool. After that just export everything back into the game engine and create a terrain with those maps
  • sgv3dmax
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sgv3dmax polycounter lvl 15