Home Career & Education

Do you ever get work DIRECTLY from Artists Looking For Work?

As in, someone saw your thread in that one forum section, contacted you, and paid you to make art for them.

If they found you through a What Are You Working On thread, or anywhere else, it doesn't count. I'd like to get a sense of how useful that section is, in practice. I wonder if employers ever browse there, looking for talent?

I've been a hiring manager before, looking for game artists. And it's such a labor-intensive process. I never had to seek individual artists. Instead I just ask colleagues to look around, and put out an ad in a couple places, and then received a ton of applicants to sift through.

Artists get hired in this business more often based on knowing someone... having gone to school with them, worked with them before, or talked with them face-to-face at an industry event. These kinds of connections seem to fill more positions than random contacts.

I'm not saying we should get rid of that forum section. Members asked for it. I'm just curious if it's actually working?

Replies

• tulkas09
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    tulkas09 polycounter lvl 7
    Got my first work ever on WAYWO(1,5y ago), later I started on a outsourcing studio, 1 year later I quit and quickly found work on Artist Looking for Work(some months ago). I don't have many contacts as I'm relatively new, and as Spain it's not big in 3d AAA stuff.

Also I didn't look for ads, as usually more than half don't even reply(my experience) and just waiting to have more porfolio to apply to studios for inhouse. With lack of contacts I'm trying to do quality... I also know a friend that got work via ALFW(?).
  • cptSwing
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cptSwing polycounter lvl 11
    I haven't tried, maybe that should be a poll option? Or make it clearer that people such as me shouldn't vote on this poll? ;)
  • Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message