Home Unreal Engine

Trouble with metallic surfaces

HashBrownHamish
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
HashBrownHamish polycounter lvl 5
I'm new to unreal engine and i am learning to build my first scene. So to try the material editor i imported a mesh and some unique asset textures along with it. So every time i try an object with metallic surfaces light reflects in a different manner to my visualisation tool (note here it is marmoset but quixel's 3Do and the UE4 lightning preset is practically the same)

This must have something to do with how specular and diffuse is handled in UE4 because the albedo from quixel ressembles the color shown in UE4. But i gave quixel the preset to export for UE4 so i'm confused.

Here is the material in UE4

Replies

• leleuxart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    leleuxart polycounter lvl 10
    Did you start your DDO project with the UE4 preset as well? Selecting the appropriate preset in the beginning tells DDO which maps to load by default, which in this case it seems like you loaded something using the Specular/Gloss workflow, instead of the Metalness/Roughness one that UE4 supports. 

I would read up on the differences between the two workflows, because while the results are nearly identical, the workflows are different and not every renderer supports both(like 3DO and Toolbag). Unreal 4 uses only Metalness, with the Specular input left as a modifier for reflectivity variation. If you do use it, you use it as a Constant 1 value offsetting the default 0.5. However, it's generally best to leave it alone. 

Take a look at these two articles by the awesome Joe Wilson. They should steer you in the right direction, but I'd also read up on the UE4 documentation for PBR since every engine will usually have their own little issues and workarounds. 

https://www.marmoset.co/toolbag/learn/pbr-theory

https://www.marmoset.co/toolbag/learn/pbr-practice
  • Cay
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cay polycounter lvl 5