Home Technical Talk

UVs when Hand Painting

Devon M
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Devon M polycounter lvl 4
Hello all. The software I'm using is Maya 2016 and Photoshop CS6.

So I'm new to hand painting my textures, and I've found it quite fun :) I had a question about UVs and hand painting. So, here is what I'm working with:

Low poly, modular fence piece. Just keep duplicating them to have a fence where ever you want. It's a wooden post with a metal bracket and loop that holds a thick rope with a torn cloth wrapped around the rope. The art style is hand painted, stylized.

Here are the UVs for this right now:

So far, everything is UV'd "correctly" in the sense that it is all within scale to each other and the UV map is looking good. I've always textured and UV'd in this manner before, but I've never done hand painting before. I feel like my metal bracket set (the set in the bottom right corner, the smaller pieces) are too small, and that wouldn't make for a fun time hand painting detail in there. So I was wondering if it's, for lack of a better word, "okay" to enlarge your UV islands for the sake of being able to paint on them better? 

Here is a shot of the new UV set:

All I did was enlarge the metal bracket and loop UV islands so it would be easier to hand paint on them. Is it bad practice to do this? Should I keep them all within a good scale of each other?

I'm fairly new to this, so I would appreciate all of the help anyone has to offer me. 

PS: I had a difficult time UV unwrapping the metal loop. It's the set of islands that are broken up, stacked on top of each other at the bottom right. I managed to get a nice UV map from this technique, however I wish I could sew them together into one piece and they look nice. I got some distortion when I tried move/sew and unfolding them. Any tips for shapes like this one? Thanks everyone.

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message