Home Technical Talk

Game character modeling pipeline w Maya and ZBrush

Pool4Sky
null
Offline / Send Message
Pool4Sky null
Hi 3D professionals,

I'm new with the topic of game character design. I want to create fantasy game characters but I don't know is the best pipeline for creating such characters. I'm working with a Mac and I have such tools like Maya, ZBrush, Substance Painter & Designer and Photoshop.

I think the pipeline could be:
- creating low poly model in Maya
- importing the low poly model to ZBrush
- sculpting high poly model in ZBrush
- export high poly model to Maya
- retopologize it in Maya
- unwrap UV in Maya
- creating normal maps with xNormal (but I don't know anything about occlusion and specular or other maps)
- creating texture in Substance Designer (but I don't know how?)

Then I guess I have to bake all of them in Maya or another tool?
Please can you give me the properly pipeline to creating a game character?
It would be very glad if you have links to video tutorials where I can learn these steps in detail.

Thank you very much.

Kind regards,

Danny

Replies

• PyrZern
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    There are many ways to do things. Either you go from Maya -> ZBrush. Or ZBrush -> Maya is fine. In game studio; you probably go from Maya to ZBrush to sculpt, because you will likely be re-using the basemesh or something.

But eventually, you will have high-res sculpt in ZBrush, and UV'ed Lowpoly model.

You would bake AO just about the same way you would bake normal map.

I believe Youtube has what you need to get started. No, I don't really have any specific vids/tutorials. Google/Youtube is enough.

EDIT:  It also helps to tell us what you know and what you can do at the moment; so we know what/what not to tell you.
  • Pool4Sky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pool4Sky null