Home Technical Talk

Triangles in normal map

null
Offline / Send Message
Medusa3d null
Hello everyone :)

I've been doing highpoly modeling for a while, but I'm a lowpoly beginner and I have a couple of questions about it.

As a first proper lowpoly test I thought I'd make an ammo crate. Couldn't be hard, right? :) All went well until I had to bake the normal map. I get strange triangles here and there, that I assume shouldn't be there.

I've modeled both highpoly and lowpoly in Max and with Textools I've set the smoothing groups based on UV shells. I've baked the normal maps in both xNormal and MightyBake, but I keep getting triangle errors. What am I doing wrong? I did a lot of research, but so far with no success on this matter.

I've attached 3 images: the object with normal map in Marmoset, the object from max and a problematic part of the normal map.

So my questions are:
1. What is creating these triangles on my normal map? Is it something in the baking settings? Is it the topology?

2. Assumming the ammo crate I'm making is for a AAA game and the player would get close to it,  what would the polycount be? What do you count, triangles or vertices?

Thank you!

Replies

• Quack!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Quack! polycounter lvl 17
    1. What is creating these triangles on my normal map? Is it something in the baking settings? Is it the topology?

This is intentional and working as expected.  The normal map bake is compensating for your low polys topology and placing those edges in there so that when displayed it will display correctly.