Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modular Knight Characters

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Finalhart polycounter lvl 6
Hey everyone, I've been working on this project for a while and decided that it would be very beneficial for everyone if i keep track of my progress here. It's about making modular characters for the game we are working on: Knights of Azariah. The idea is to have an army of customizable characters using Blueprints to change the way they look on real time. Also since we are a small studio is the best for us to create multiple variations if we want to populate the world.

Since this is my first time working on modular characters I would love to hear your experiences if you have some, I'm a big fan of MMOs so working on this project really excites me, also critiques are always nice Polycount rocks!

So first of all, some quick HP renders to have fun after a lot of work:

Here is a quick shot of all the subtools, I need to make sure all of them are swapable and fit the UE4 Mannequin proportions.

Here are some shots in UE4 with normal maps only, I still need to finish some parts but depending on the tests I would have to group them differenty to make them work properly with the Rig and Blueprint system.

Also, some shots from the planning I made. Having more than 60 meshes can get really messy if you don't stay organized. They all have their pivot on the same location, so I can easily swap pieces just like @Skankerzero did in this project: http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/SkankerzeroModularCharacterSystem

The idea is to also be very flexible with the Materials, so writing things down can save you time, It won't always work as expected but is better than just jumping  to the computer.

Will update you guys with more stuff soon!

Replies

• Finalhart
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Worked on a Greatsword this week, not really related to the character progress but can't imagine him without holding a weapon.

• Finalhart
    Options