Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Walk Cycles Help and Reviews

DJSarah26dl
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
DJSarah26dl polycounter lvl 2
Hello,

My name is Sarah, I'm a young 3D artist student. This is my first post on this forum. I am doing my very first demo reel for my school assignment. So far, I did two walk cycles and I would like to have some reviews from anyone of you, it would be helpful.

Regular Man Walk Cycle:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aLwgH_2nPF8

Heavy Walk Cycle (Monster Like):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nYkIButSpGM

P.S: I'm not sure how to well present my link from YouTube on this forum, any suggestions will be great :)  

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I moved your thread from 3D Showcase into Animation Showcase. There tend to be more animators in here, so this is a good place.

I also fixed your Youtubes. For future ref, we have some info about embedding in the Info sticky at the top of General Discussion.
  • EVernier
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    EVernier polycounter lvl 8
    Hey, welcome to the forum X). 

You're off to a good start if you ask me. Your regular walk cycle lacks some head movement, you can also really move those forearms to get a nice flow from the shoulder to the tip of the hand. You can also add some movement to the fingers, something subtle. You've got a nice bounce going. You could probably bend the body forward just a little bit.

For the heavy walk cycle, did you take any reference of yourself ? The timing is pretty off  and everything is kinda linear. You should film yourself to get a good idea for it, then push the poses to really feel the weight in the character.

I'm not the most experienced animator, others might be able to give you better feedback, but that's some of the stuff I noticed.
  • AGoodFella
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AGoodFella polycounter lvl 5
    Nice stuff, I was a lot worse when I was at school.