Home General Discussion

New college student looking for a little direction with 3d models. Zbrush, 3DSMax, and Xnormal

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Toafaloaf polycounter lvl 6
I am a college student and am kind of missing some information. I am currently using ZBrush to make my models and just got 3dsMax. I am trying to make high poly models look good low. I have watched many tutorials and have been studying 3d modeling for  a year. I managed to get my model looking kind of alright but the model in ZBrush is better. This is the model I am trying to learn the process with. I make it in ZBrush using dynamesh and decimation master. I append a zshpere and rig the models. Take out my high and low obj. and import them to xnormals. I take my normal map and ambient occlusion map and generate them. Then import them to 3d max and apply them to my model. I am just not sure how to make a really high poly mesh low poly. I am currently using a Cintiq companion 2. Once I got it out of 3dmax I tried importing it into unreal engine to see how it would look as shown in the pictures below. I had to switch the eyes and could not figure out how to bring the ZBrush material through the process. I am studying to become a 3d game artist  and I just cant seem to get through the whole process and a teacher suggested posting here. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• kanga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kanga quad damage