Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Savage Pig Handpainted Workthread

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
juaninside polycounter lvl 3
Hello everyone, it's been a long time since im part of this great community! However, i never decided to post some of my work... 
Although im a programmer and i have 0 skill on  drawing ilustrations and concepts i always loved 3D Art and i tried to do some characters and environment for my personal projects. 

Today i will share my Workflow of creating a character, this character is a Savage Pig  handpainted.
My process is something like this:

1- I start sculpting a rough base on Blender.
2- I polish the sculpt as much as i can and then i do the retopology and unwraping.

3- I bake AO for have a base to start with, and then just multiply my base color and add highlights.

The whole process was covered with Blender and my next steps are rig + animation and then export it to Unity for my Turn-based Roleplaying Project!!.

I will be posting more work as soon as im done since i dont have too much time due to work >:<.

I really appreciate if you can tell me where can i improve and how since im just starting.. Thank you guys you are awesome.

My best regards, Juan.

PD: Sry for my bad english! im learning as well =P

Replies

• Greg DAlessandro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Greg DAlessandro polycounter lvl 6

- The eyes are super bright right now. 

-You should do a vertical gradient bake.

-The fur on the body could use a bit more variation/detail.

- There should be a gradient for each tusk

- There should be a gradient for the bones(tusks?) on this armband.

- You might want to adjust either the fur color or the clothes color, since there is a lot of reddish browns overall.

- There should be more contrast on the shield. (especially on that gem-like structure in the middle) You should also add a specular texture or paint in highlights/shadows.