Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Dark Altar [IMAGES HEAVY]

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
NodrawNT polycounter lvl 6
Hi everyone, 

I'm currently unemployed and I think it's a great time to do some art and improve my skills as a 3D artist. I'm fairly new to this field but I'd love to work in the video game industry as an environment artist. I've been very busy last week (playing Dark Souls 3) and I decided to do something I had in my mind for some time.

I'm going to do a small scene in UE4 which would be some kind of dark altar with very gloomy vibes.
I spent some times this morning to gather a lot of references for what could be props, materials, building layout etc. Here's a sample of the references :

I'm experienced with Substance Painter but for this project I will learn how to use Substance Designer in order to create my own materials. I know this is a big project for me and this will take me a huge amount of time but I think if you don't work hard, there will be no rewards, such is life.

I don't have anything else to show at the moment but I've launched UE4 to do some blocking for the scene. If you have references or ideas that you'd like to share with me that would be nice ! Thanks.

Replies

• NodrawNT
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi ! I've been busy lately but here's an update.

I think the blockout is done and while it's still very rough I did some materials and meshes.

Since I haven't make the windows and stained glass, the lighting is basic and is going to be improved all along the project. The stained glass on the windows is going to set a very cold light (blue, light purple) which is going to be contrasted by the light from the candles and braziers.

Now for the materials, here's the cobble floor.

I'm not sure what but in my project something looks off, maybe it is because of the strong contrast between the lights.