Home Adobe Substance

Basic SD template question - how do you actually apply them to a huge set of meshes?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
bac9-flcl polycounter lvl 10
Hey, I'm very new to Substance Designer, so maybe it's covered in some tutorial I might have missed, but here is my case: I have a huge number of meshes, and for each, I want to produce some bakes, push those bakes through a graph, and save it's output.

The graph in question can be really simple - for example, I made a tiny graph that combines a curvature and occlusion map into a single RGBA image (two Color Image Input nodes, one Channel Shuffle node, one Output node). I found a video tutorial on saving projects as templates and adding new directories to the SD template preferences, so now it shows up in the template list.

What I can't understand is how do you use that template efficiently. The only process obvious to me so far is this:

• Open New Substance dialog
  • Choose your template, press OK in the dialog
  • Right click your Unsaved Package in the Explorer window
  • Choose Link - 3D Mesh, find a mesh in the file browser, hit OK
  • Navigate to the newly created Resources folder in the Explorer window
  • Select the mesh there, right click it, choose Bake Model Information
  • Configure the baking outputs (curvature and occlusion in my case), press OK
  • Navigate to the newly created Resources/Mesh_Resources folder in the Explorer window
  • Drag the baked images from there onto the Color Image nodes of your graph
  • Right click the graph in the Explorer window, choose Export outputs as bitmaps
  • Configure destination/naming/format, press Save All
  • Start again from Link - 3D Mesh to produce more images