Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Mook (Finished!)

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Sixshot polycounter lvl 8
Update: Calling him done!

Hey all! I figure since it's been 5 and a half years of lurking it's about time I got in on the art sharing. I'm well versed in Maya (primarily as an animator) but I like to pretend I'm a generalist. I got into all this because I liked drawing, and as much as I love animation I still have the itch to create something from nothing, like a character!

This is my first time ever using ZBrush, so I'm sure I've got a lot to improve on. So far I've basically used 3 brushes and dynamesh, because I literally can't figure anything else out.

Based on a doodle of a cannon-fodder, nameless-minion type baddie (hence "Mook"). Some elements of the design have changed in the sculpt since I'm literally working from a 1.5 in. sketch:

So far I've got the rough form fleshed out (minus the feet, but I need to call it a day for now):

And while I have you all here, being a ZBrush noob, can anyone help me with the problem below? I don't know what this is or how to fix it. The fingers were all subtools that I merged and dynameshed onto the larger mesh, so it's possible something went wrong there?

Anyways, I plan to use this to teach myself the full ZBrush -> Maya -> Substance -> UDK pipeline, so any feedback at this early stage (and all others) is greatly appreciated. Anatomy, proportions, design decisions, it's all fair game. Thanks!

Replies

• Sixshot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Small update, finalized the block in of the body and started roughing in his pants.

I'm not too keen on the feet and I can't decide if it's the design itself or just proportions/shaping, but I think I like the shape of the hands at this point. Also, after a little bit of playing around with folds on the pants I've discovered that I have no idea what I'm doing and it's probably going to be the hardest part for me.