Home Technical Talk

New to Sculpting: Mudbox or Zbrush?

null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Yuri null
Hello.

I'm new to the whole 3D industry (Animation, Modeling, etc.) and I have a question regarding sculpting.

I have been given the Autodesk Entertainment Creation Suite 2016 Ultimate (from a family member), which is a suite that includes Maya, 3ds Max, Softimage, Motionbuilder and Mudbox. I'm very, very happy that I got this and extremely excited to start learning! However, I'd like to know how Mudbox compares to Zbrush. I highly doubt that I'll get Zbrush as I already have Mudbox and I don't have enough money to buy Zbrush myself. I'm confident that Mudbox will provide more than enough for me as a beginner, but I'd still like to know what I'm "missing" out on by not using Zbrush.

Thanks in advance for all replies. Have a good day!

Edit: How active is this forum?

Replies

• lefix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lefix polycounter lvl 11
    I think you're perfectly fine with learning in Mudbox. The gained skills can be easily transferred to zbrush later on. Learning a specific tool is only a tiny part of becoming a good artist.
  • Panupat
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Panupat polycounter lvl 15
    Yes, sculpting skill itself is not tied to any software.
  • musashidan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    musashidan high dynamic range
    Yuri said:
     but I'd still like to know what I'm "missing" out on by not using Zbrush.

The greatest software ever created!! No that title belongs to Windows Millenium..... :smile: 

But seriously, Zbrush bypassed Mudbox some time ago and is a far superior application. Mudbox has stagnated and will remain so. 

However, for learning/practicing sculpting MB will serve you well and has a very good sculpting engine with all the tools you need. It was originally built as an in-house Weta project and was production proven all those years ago. I used it myself back in 1.0