Home Unreal Engine

Mecha Runner - UE4 level scripting study

Offline / Send Message
Pinned
It is my first time posting any thread on polycount, hello to all.
I recently started studying on UE4 blueprint, and just wanted to share my progression on creating a project with blueprints. Since I have no experience, any tips or help would be nice.

So first off, I would like to make a mockup/ list on what I plan to do.
I plan to create 3D rush game where a character jumps to proceed from platform to platform. The platform where the character stands on will collapse after certain seconds after the character steps on it.

Here is the brief concept idea about my game. 

Logic needed for the game algorithm.
1. Main menu- Stage mode/ unlocking various stages
2. In game – Patterns of platforms/ player passing through the level
3. Multiple stages, adding new features as further the stage goes.

Game design
- Models
-Basic platform
-Player character
-Broad background model
-2 models that fits the scene floating around
-special platforms that has different system
-moving, spikes, accelerated, slowdown, etc…

- Textures
-Simple flat color textures for the models above

- Animations
-Character animation (movement, stay still, jumping, falling)
-Platform animation (collapsing, shaking)
-Animation for obstacles

- Effects
-Special effects for certain obstacles (perhaps laser trap and such)
-sounds effect
-Background music, jump sound, trap sounds, platform/ character falling sound

These settings may be modified.

Replies

• KimKwanbo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here are the updated stuffs I've done so far. 
    I've tried out several background models (something like skysphere) and eventually just chose blank void like space and discarded previous ones.
    (since the industrial visuals that were made weren't showing from the game camera view)