Home Marmoset

Am I doing something wrong with textures?

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Pixel_Fire polycounter lvl 4
Hey Everyone,

I am pretty new to using marmoset (pretty new to 3D in general), so I only kinda know what I am doing. My problem is that my Substance model looks the way I want it to, but when exporting the maps to be put into Marmoset, the quality is lowered significantly. Perhaps this is just what Marmoset does because it replicates a game engine? I also have an issue when exporting a viewer from Marmoset, everything turns.. weird. Pretty sure it has something to do with reflectivity, but then again, I only kinda know what I am doing. 

Pictures below of Substance>Marmoset>Marmoset Viewer

Any help would be much appreciated :)

The Substance Model

The Marmoset Model

The Marmoset Viewer Model

Maps that I am using

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Firstly, the difference between the first Substance image and the Marmoset Toolbag 2 image looks to be differences in lighting more than anything. I would suggest experimenting with different Sky Light presets. To do this, click the Sky object and go to presets, you'll find a library of different lighting environments there. You can click on Sky Light Editor add directional lights. Hold shift and drag in the viewport to rotate the Sky Light.

I would suggest experimenting with adding manually placed dynamic lights as well, you can add a new light by hitting ctrl+l, or going to Scene -> new light. Click on the light object to change light type, currently we support omni (point), spot, and directional lights.  You can adjust the width settings in the light properties, a higher width setting gives you a bigger, more diffused light source with softer shadows. However, omni lights and light width settings are not supported in Marmoset Viewer.