Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Edwardian Interior

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
nickcomeau polycounter lvl 4
Most recent update:

Hey everyone,

I'm currently in my last semester of college trying to push through to the end. I have seen a few really awesome "cutout" environments, showcasing a corner of an environment which I've been very interested in trying. I was inspired by this mini environment by Scott Homer I saw:

I'm going to be going for a more classic style house, sorta like in the picture below.

These are some of the assets I've been working on for it:

I also want to add a few more props like these: 

I'm going to be starting to work on the lighting/setup tomorrow and would love some feedback on what I've got so far, or if you have references that you'd like to share that relate that would be great too! Thanks :) 

Replies

• nickcomeau
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here's a bit of an update. I've been working on finishing the sculpt of the chair (which I'll show later) and I textured the piano. I'd love some critique on it. Is it worn enough? Thanks!

• nickcomeau
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I quickly fixed the wood grain based on some feedback I just got. Thoughts?
  • KrisLW
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KrisLW polycounter lvl 5
    Looking good! I can't really say if it's worn enough or not, though, since it's not in a scene yet. In and of itself, it looks great - although, nowhere near as ornate as the rest of your references?

Two things that stand out to me:
    The wood underneath of the keyboard looks too repeated, like a printed piece of laminate material rather than a natural piece of wood.