Home General Discussion

When and Why to form an LLC?

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Rurouni Strife polycounter lvl 10
Hi everyone!

So, I have a question for all of the freelancers, company owners, and others who are off doing their own thing. When and Why did you or don't you form an LLC?

I've been freelancing f/t (or close to) since late 2013 or so. I've been doing it as a Sole Proprietor, or independent contractor if you will. I don't have a company and really haven't felt as if I've needed one until lately. Business has picked up, I'm getting work from increasingly larger entities (still small but it counts) and I've even had one client state that they prefer to work with LLC's (they still worked with me anyway).  

The other thing I'm thinking about is selling assets and making my own small games. I teach at Drexel University as an Adjunct (it's separate from my freelance/business), so that gives me some freedom to pivot from working on other's work to working on my own (my own game ideas, my own assets, etc).

If I form an LLC, I'd need to purchase new web space and set up a company email, twitter, and so on since the business would be separate from me. It's a bit different than how it is now, where I am one with the business. 

I'm less worried about tax advantages, since I'm not sure I'd benefit in the near term. But I'd love to hear stories or advice about taxes too. 

Thanks, I'm really looking forward to hearing some thoughts!
-Dan Rose
http://rose3d.com

Replies

• N-gon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    N-gon polycounter lvl 5
    Are you talking about forming a outsourcing studio when you mean LLC?
  • Rurouni Strife
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I don't think so. I think I'd have the LLC exist primarily for my products (games, asset kits, who knows what else) and for companies that prefer to work with LLCs.