Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[CE] Modular Oasis Buildings "Moorish"

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
PianoPolish polycounter lvl 8
Hello...

My name is Antonio. I'm a amateur Level Designer. This time I created a map based in the Chebika Oasis, Havasupai Oasis and the Kalahari Desert. I called this Oasis "Emerald" due to the water is too shiny and clean like a emerald. :) First I have to clarify that the vegetation assets are not created by me. I only have re-textured a lot of them including the big red rocks. ;)

These modular buildings are my first assets that I created for a game.  :p For baking the textures in the maps, I used "CrazyBump" and obtained the textures from various free textures pages. 

Here are some key reference. I really like the atmosphere created in this artwork of UNCHARTED 3, so I use it in the map.

I follow some tips of the workflow from Anthony Vaccaro in this thread:

http://polycount.com/discussion/98332/uncharted-3-environment-art-dump-anthony-vaccaro11/07/14/havasupai-arizonas-desert-oasis/

Also I was watching some of the work from Bradford Smith in his portfolio:

http://bradfolio.com/portfolio/naughty-dog/uncharted-3-drakes-deception/

Some screenshot, sorry for the quality. I'm really bad taking pics.

Some aerial pics of the map.

I re-textured some of the stock rock than come with the CRYENGINE Free-SDK version, because  they look really weird.

On the right side, the rocks with the custom texture. I created the river white rocks. These are my first rocks in 3DS Max. B)

Sorry for the f_cking wall of screenshots,  >:) I would really appreciate any suggestion, feel free to leave a criticism. :)

Cheers.

Replies

• mrgesy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mrgesy polycounter lvl 7
    Pretty good looking scene. How did you do the large dunes? Modeled or sculpted with terrain system?
  • FreneticPonies
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    FreneticPonies polycounter lvl 3