Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Mime's Animation Sketchbook

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
Mime polycounter lvl 14
Hi,
I am by profession an environment artist. But recently i am getting more and more attracted to animation.
So i decided to start learning some in my spare time.
I started with the basics , bouncing ball (3ds Max)

Then i started following some tutorials, and as i realised that what seemed the best are in Maya, i switched to that so i could follow more easily. (My main modelling package is Modo with some 3ds Max mixed in)

This is my latest work, trying to add some character to the ball.

Should i start tackling a simple walk cycle , or do the ball with the tail ?
Guidance and feedback is greatly appreciated.

Replies

• slipsius
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    slipsius mod
    Oh awesome! Love that you`re digging into animation as an enviro artist! These really are a great start! It shows you've got a good understanding of animation already, which is always a plus! 

Bounce 1: It's a little hard to crit with a flat texture like that. Without being able to see the spin, it seems like it's sliding at the end. Also, I feel you have too much squash and stretch on that last few bounces. It feels very wobbly, which takes away from it's the belief that it's a bouncey ball, rather than say a water balloon. It also feels like it slows down too quickly. you could probably drag it out for a few more bounces.