Home General Discussion

Quarter-life crisis

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
zetheros interpolator
Hey guys,

So I'm a pretty amateur artist, looking for advice. This is a long post, so, really, you don't have to read this if you don't want to.

This might be one of those posts where I look back to in embarrassment, but I can take the crits; so don't hold back, and I suppose it's better to ask, than not knowing.

My situation:
1. I've used the internet to learn art since 12, and have been 'living in a basement' for basically my entire life. Currently I'm 22, and still living with my dad. With time passing as quickly as it is, I'm going to be 30 tomorrow.

2. I'd like to get a job and move out ASAP, hopefully related to game dev/movies/digital art. I have two years, but I'd rather move out now. That brings me to:
2a. Should I specialize, or generalize?
2b. I've basically 'completed' nothing. My entire portfolio is WIP, and honestly pretty shameful imo. Basically nothing is retoplogized, rigged, textured, posed, and rendered, simply because I'd start on a new project before I get the zbrush hi-poly out into modo. Should I keep making new things using the knowledge gained, or complete the projects I have?

3. Should I just drop art altogether? It's what I enjoy doing most, but sometimes the desperate drive to become better is a bit like pulling out mouse-sized serrated kitchen knifes from under a toenail, and seeing there are about 1000 more of these to pull out. I mean, I have the potential to become a decent 3d character artist, but the competition and the amount of time dedicated is one of those 100% or nothing deals. If I am to change career decisions, it would be now.

So... that's about it. How's everyone's day going?

Replies

• Shrike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator