Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Draenei Character WIP/Process

AhrensArts
null
Hey fellow 3D folks!

I'm a Game Art student from Germany who wants to specialize in Character Art. I'm a little timid about my stuff, but following the advice in John Troy Nickels Character Art Podcast, I'll get this out here now and see what you think of it. So this is my first Polycount post ever! :)

Now let's get to the character: I'm hugely in love with the art of Blizzard and their games, so I thought I'd make a fan art piece of a Draenei wearing Protoss armor. Said armor will be Luke Mancinis concept for Artanis: http://www.iamag.co/features/itsart/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/hots-artanis-concept.jpg
As for the style and proportions, I don't want to copy what Blizzard did, but try and develop my own style in the process. It's a really early WIP, so there's lots of stuff still missing, especially in the upper back area, as well as the joints and overall details. Still, I'm curious about your opinions and feedback. I'll also try and keep this post updated with progress on the character, but as I'm currently writing on my bachelor's thesis, that may go a little slower than usual.

Here's an overview of her body:

And here's her face with some basic shaders to visualize what I'd like her to look like later on.

Replies

• AhrensArts
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AhrensArts null
    Update 01: Changed some proportions

When I had this reviewed by some fellow students, they pointed out her arms were a little too thin and her head was too small. I took a closer look at it and changed some stuff in the shoulder and upper arm area as well as the head size. Also, her waist is a subtle note rounder now. As for the sudden green: I didn't really like the warm and cold greys on a grey background, they seem to be clashing. So, greenscreen ex machina!

Here's the new orthographics:

• AhrensArts
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AhrensArts null