Home General Discussion

3D Newbie... some advice?

JDM
Hello,

I only have had a few tries with 3DSMax in the past, followed a F-15 tutorial some years ago with some success, but I don't really remember much from that. So you can say I'm a total 3d newbie.

I want to get good at modelling, maybe in the future use some of my models in an indie game (I want to learn Unity as well), or if not gaming, just for the sake of 3d art I want to learn a 3d software, just as a hobby, I'm not planning to make a living out of it.

After reading a lot, I think Maya would be the place to start, since it has a lot of tutorials and it's the industry standard, I've checked MODO as well, but seems that there is not enough info for a complete newbie.

I'm subscribed to Digital Tutors, so I'll start there. Also I want to learn Zbrush, but I guess it's better to start with Maya, right?

So my question is, do you think that starting with Maya before anything else is the way to go? I've heard the interface is hard to learn... Zbrush goes after, right?

Also, final question, following tutorials/practicing in average 10 hours a week, how long do you think it would take me until I can make my first character? I mean a decent 3d model.

Thanks a lot!

Replies

• CandyStripes05
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    CandyStripes05 polycounter lvl 9
    maya then zbrush isn't a bad idea, you could also pull off most models with only using one or the other of those programs

I learned maya first and only ever use zbrush for organic details like wrinkles etc

how long? depends how fast of a learner you are, just keep making stuff and eventually you'll be boss at it
  • sharsein
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sharsein polycounter lvl 9
    Learn Maya first. Most character artists started out doing environments/guns/vehicles, and those are easier to do in maya.