Home Technical Talk

Environmental Tile Strip Brick Corners.. Easy Right?

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
oXYnary polycounter lvl 18
Brick comers, simplest thing in the world right? Except I can figure out how to do the offset so it matches an existing tile without adding tons of extra vertices.

I'm not an environmental artist, but someone has to do this. How do I offset the corner blocks/strips without a ton of extra geometry?

I'm talking about this type of corner. http://thumbs.dreamstime.com/x/brick-corner-1770232.jpg

Attached is the original tile, and after hours of screwing around, thought would have worked.
Made 1/8th longer,
added corner to other end,
offset ends to middle.
Collapsed ends back to 1:1.
But one side still wont tile. :/

Also maybe this is on the Polycount wiki, but I didn't find an exact match for this situation. Its probably a "duh" moment Im in for.

Replies

• GlowingPotato
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GlowingPotato polycounter lvl 10
    Your image is tillable, just go beyond the 0-1 UV space and set the texture to wrap. Simple as that, no extra geometry needed.
  • m4dcow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    m4dcow interpolator
    Honestly I see most people just wrap the texture around the wall.
  • oXYnary
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Your image is tillable, just go beyond the 0-1 UV space and set the texture to wrap. Simple as that, no extra geometry needed.

Yea, thats what I did with the second image. I figured it out sorta. I had to cut another 1/8th into the main tile on one side of the corner. Cow, I know many do this, and I notice it.

Actually maybe that didn't work on second thought. Edit, no, that did actually work. Man this is going to be complicated to tile in substance!
  • sharsein
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sharsein polycounter lvl 9
  • teaandcigarettes
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    teaandcigarettes polycounter lvl 12