Home General Discussion

"I Don't Know How to do that!"

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Dan Powell polycounter lvl 5
Hello Polycount,

I'll begin this thread by stating, that, I am an industry noob; an MArt Student at Sheffield Hallam University, whom, after this year of intensive study and skill-set refining, will attempt to put my foot in the reinforced steel door that is the Games industry!

Many students at my level, despite not showing it, feel quite the level of helplessness when approaching the industry, and the concern that echoes mostly throughout the student community, as well as being the personal daunt of my own, is the thought of not being able to complete the task I am assigned to.

I.E. - What if my supervisor asks me to complete a task, and I have no idea how to approach it?!

Myself, and I am certain that many other students, would value greatly, the reassurance of the professional developers; we want to know what you feel we should do when we are stuck.

My personal approach, as always, is to give it a go. Spend some time trying to figure out a solution myself; but take care in not making your efforts futile, as this is still time wasted.

It can be a very daunting feeling having to hold your hands up to the boss and telling him/her that we are stuck. Professionals of Polycount, have you any advice, or guidance that you would be happy to share with us students, about what to do, in-industry, when we have no idea how to approach the task we are assigned? Should we be scared of admitting we are stuck?

Thank you for reading/contributing. :) Essentially, the scope of this is to help reassure the newer artists, and to give them the confidence to seek help.

Replies

• WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message