Home Technical Talk

New Texture Creation Programs killing Traditional art skills?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
CarlK3D polycounter lvl 7
So my main question here is do you think Texture Creation Programs like dDo and Substance Painter are bad in the long run for artists? When I started studying Art Texture painting programs like dDo and Substance Painter didn't exist so we learned more traditional art skills such as layering a texture, material definition and hand painting details with brushes all of which was done by hand in photoshop from source images, details and brushes.

These programs don't really impact on your high and low poly creation skills as your still required to create a high poly either hard surface or sculpted or both through your respective programs (Maya, Max, Zbrush, Mudbox? assuming people still use that for some reason to name a few) which makes you a better artist the more you practice it and is still the main technique used in the industry.

...BUT as far as texture painting (diffuse, spec and gloss) what do you think these programs are making newer artist less reliant on Traditional art skills and more on generated effects?

I try to do as much hand painting and sculpting as I can depending on the requirements of the model but I recently looked into Substance and it looks amazing I just don't want to become reliant on the program because it can make my stuff like a lot better and suffer in the long run because I will have less experience if I'm required to do something else that I can't use substance for

Sorry for long post but this has been on my mind for a long time and I'd love some input from people who are in the same situation or industry experienced professionals

Thanks!
- Carl

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master