Home General Discussion

Presentation Techniques

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
jonnydjango polycounter lvl 2
Hello, i am a Character Designer/Modeller and i struggle a bit with presentation.
What is the best way to present a model in your opinion?
Do i need a ground to catch a shadow, or is a color background with vignette in Marmoset ok?
To model a stand, everytime i want to show a model is a bit to time consuming in my opinion.
What do you think about this?

Cheers
Helmut

Replies

• Daew
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daew polycounter lvl 9
    I absolutely suck at presentation, but its something im trying to improve.

So these are just some of my thoughts.

The model is the main focus so make sure the post processing and crazy backgrounds are used to enhance and not take it away. They shouldn't overpower the model, i.e check your contrast.
    everytime i want to show a model is a bit to time consuming in my opinion

:< you put all that hard work into making a model and you don't want to show it to its highest potential? It might look good in your view-port but if you don't present it well in your beauty shots, what's the point?

look at photographers/good photographs and how they light stuff. their job is all about presentation, (though I have no idea how to find good photographers ><.)

lastly keep things simple :)
  • Joost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joost polycount sponsor
    Daew wrote: »

look at photographers/good photographs and how they light stuff. their job is all about presentation, (though I have no idea how to find good photographers ><.)